Herb Butter Roast Lamb

I have had huge withdraw symptoms from my blog this week; it has officially become a part of my life that I struggle to live without (is that sad?)! I worked away this week and therefore spend the evenings working and avoiding the horse meat meals from the hotel. It was also my Birthday, which meant numerous trips out and a drive back to Nottingham to see family and friends. I am now home and prioritising my blog over chilling out and psyching myself up for the week to come, and what better recipe to give you on a Sunday that this great roast lamb. Although saying that, it’s Sunday night now so I guess most roasts have already been slaved over and devoured, so perhaps this could go in the recipe book for another Sunday!?

ai 004

–          1.2kg leg of lamb

–          50g butter

–          Juice of 1 small lemon

–          1 tsp chopped rosemary

–          2 tsp mint sauce

–          1 twsp thyme

–          1 tsp paprika

–          Salt and pepper

Mix the herbs and spices into the butter and coat the lamb with it.

Wrap in cling film and chill for 2 hours.

Pre heat the oven to 200’C

Place in a roasting tin and cover with foil. Roast for half an hour and then un-cover and place back in the oven to cook for 45 minutes. If you would rather your lamb not to be pink then cook for an extra half an hour covered.

Remove from the oven and leave to rest for 15 minutes before carving and serving with roast potatoes and seasonal vegetables. 

Image

24 thoughts on “Herb Butter Roast Lamb

  1. Happy belated birthday…! 🙂
    This sounds absolutely yummmmmm…! Lamb is a wonderful meat.
    My daughter, who is now grown and has become a wonderful cook, had us over for dinner recently. Her lamb put mine to shame, although I am an okay cook, and my roast lamb is yum.
    All she did was to place the lamb (sprinkled with her favourite herbs and smeared with olive oil) into a ‘crockpot’ on low for about 8 hours (no liquid). The meat absolutely melted in the mouth… Oh boy, it was delicious. I then tried this myself, and had wonderful success. My piece was a little smaller than the leg she cooked, so I deducted an hour from the cooking time. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Shine on award | aristonorganic

  3. Looks good, I really wish I liked lamb as my other half loves it and I am sure I would cook it more if I liked it. Belated happy birthday to you too.

  4. I’ve recently switched my food blog over to be self-hosted which I hope will make it more user-friendly in the future. As a result, if you were following Can’t Stay Out of the Kitchen via email, WordPress, or using RSS feeds through Google Reader or some other way, you are no longer subscribed. If you wish to continue receiving future posts from my blog you will need to re-subscribe. Sorry for the inconvenience, Teresa.

  5. I drop a leave a response when I especially enjoy a post on a site or if I
    have something to valuable to contribute to the conversation.
    Usually it’s a result of the sincerness communicated in the post I read. And on this article Herb Butter Roast Lamb | Homemade With Mess. I was actually moved enough to leave a comment 🙂 I do have a few questions for you if you don’t mind.
    Could it be just me or do a few of these comments look as if they are written by
    brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are posting at additional online social sites, I would like to follow you.
    Could you make a list every one of all your
    shared sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or
    linkedin profile?

  6. Add spices appropriately: If you are using whole spices (recommended),
    add them at the beginning of cooking. College kids gain on average
    about ten pounds the first year. Rinse and soak the beans in a pot or large bowl covered with 3-4 inches of
    cold water.

Leave a Reply

