Tomato, Basil and Spaghetti Soup

I don’t need to tell you again how much I love tomato based soups; I could literally live on a diet of them. This is not my first tomato based soup recipe, and I doubt it will be my last. We don’t always have bread in the house but as my body craves carbs I thought I would fill this soup with spaghetti and it was so good! So good infact I even had it for breakfast the next day, it was just a shame I didn’t make a bigger batch!

ag 018

–          1 red onion – cut into quarters

–          5 cloves garlic

–          1 red chilli – halved

–          1 tbsp rape seed oil

–          1 x 400g tin plum tomatoes

–          ½ dsp balsamic vinegar

–          2 tbsp tomato puree

–          500ml hot vegetable stock

–          Large handful basil

–          50g Spaghetti – snapped in half

–          Cream cheese to serve

Serves 3

Preheat the oven to 180’C

Roast the onion, garlic cloves and chilli in the rape seed oil for 15 minutes.

After this time, the garlic should be soft enough to squeeze out of the skin. Add the tomatoes, vinegar and puree to the pan and stir so well combined. Return to the oven for 15 minutes

Transfer the oven mix to a sauce pan and add the stock and the basil to the mixture. Blend until smooth.

Add the spaghetti to the pan and place on medium – low heat for 15minutes until the spaghetti is cooked through.

Season to taste and top with a dollop of cream cheese.

18 thoughts on “Tomato, Basil and Spaghetti Soup

  1. This sounds a lot like my simple pasta sauce I do, I roast fresh tomatoes with the garlic though. It looks very delicious.

  2. Looks epic! Don’t forget to add up to half a jar of marmite to this for that added marmitey KICK. “OOooomph, I say!” you would cry. And then you’d cry. Long story short; don’t add marmite to this soup.

  3. This is such a delicious looking site you have here. I’m getting hungry viewing the different dishes and recipes from so many different varieties. I love Italian foods and especially spaghetti. I am definitely going to give this recipe a try, and also make sure I have some extra garlic bread on hand to dip into the soupy tomato sauce! Thanks for sharing your recipes. I’ll for sure be cooking this recipe soon! Bon Appetit! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Broccoli and Stilton Soup | Homemade With Mess

  5. Pingback: 500 Blog Post Celebration (well, 501 now!) | Homemade With Mess

Leave a Reply

