Peppercorn Crusted Steak with Creamy Mushrooms, Parsnip Chips & Chunky Barbecue Sauce

My fiancé once said that he just eats food because he needs to and therefore would be quite happy with a piece of meat, veg and rice. I am officially wasted on him, as I like to be a bit more creative than that. I found these lovely steaks in the reduced section of the supermarket (my favourite section), and I was thinking all day of how I can do a basic steak recipe but with an added twist. I thought back to my university days and working in a pub where there we would sell steak with chips, salad, grilled mushrooms, tomatoes and a barbecue sauce dip. This recipe is almost that, however I have made it slightly less ‘Grill n Pint Night’, and more homemade with mess and cider night!

af 038

Serves 2

For the Steak

–          2 beef steaks

–          1 egg – lightly beaten

–          2 tsp crushed peppercorns (1 for each steak)

–          Salt

For the Parsnips

–          10 baby parsnips – peeled, topped and tailed

–          2 tbsp rapeseed oil

For the Creamy Mushrooms

–          Large Handful mixed mushrooms

–          20g butter

–          1 tbsp low fat cream cheese

–          (use yesterday’s recipe for the chunky barbecue sauce)

Take the beef out the fridge half an hour before you plan on frying it

Pre-heat the oven to 180’C

Roast the parsnips in the oil and a good sprinkling of salt for half an hour, until turned golden

Roll the beef first in the egg and then in the peppercorns and the salt and set aside

To make the mushrooms, sauté them in a frying pan for 2-3minutes and then stir in the cream cheese on a low-medium heat until melted into the mushrooms.

Heat a griddle pan to a high temperature and fry the steak to your taste, depending on the thickness. Turn every minute so cooked evenly.

Serve all the ingredients with some fresh salad (gotta get your 5 a day) and a good dollop of the barbecue sauce.

Image

13 thoughts on “Peppercorn Crusted Steak with Creamy Mushrooms, Parsnip Chips & Chunky Barbecue Sauce

  1. I love your blog! I nominated you for the Sunshine Award! (To avoid spam, I can’t put the URL, but visit my blog – it’s today’s post, titled, “The Sunshine Award.”) 🙂

Leave a Reply

