Moroccan Vegetable Tagine

I have probably mentioned this many many times but my ultimate favourite kitchen item is my Le Creuset pot. I even think if we had a fire I would save it! I have no idea how or why but it just appears to make food tastier. I once made a batch of bolognaise for about ten people and therefore had 2 pots on the go, my Le Creuset and another large saucepan. Bearing in mind that the same ingredients went into each pot, the Le Creuset batch was so much better; the sauce was thinker, deeper, richer and just altogether tastier. It had the same effect on this vegetable tagine, which was absolutely delicious! So my one piece of advice to you today, is if you haven’t already got one then you need a Le Creuset in your life, I promise you will not be disappointed!

ac 022

–       1 tbsp olive oil

–       1 large onion – roughly chopped

–       3 garlic cloves –crushed

–       2 sweet potatoes – roughly chopped into cubes

–       1heap tsp ground cinnamon

–       1heap tsp ground cumin

–       1heap tsp ground coriander

–       1 thumbsize piece root ginger – grated

–       6 green cardamom pods, split open and seeds lightly crushed

–       3 bay leaves

–       1 can chopped tomatoes

–       1 large carrot – very thickly sliced

–       1 courgette – roughly chopped

–       350ml hot stock

–       35g raisins

–       1 large yellow pepper – roughly chopped

–       1 can chickpeas, about 425g – drained

–       chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley to garnish

Heat oven to 160’C

Heat the oil in a very large pan and stir-fry the onion over a high heat for 2–3 minutes or until beginning to soften and colour. Add the potato and fry for about 3 minutes

Mix together the spice mix, garlic and ginger and add this to the pan. Fry off for 1 minute so everything is well coated.

Stir in all the remaining ingredients (leaving the parsley aside to garnish once cooked), bring to the boil and then cover and cook in the oven for 1.5 to 2hours (the longer the better).

Serve with couscous and garnish with fresh chopped parsley.

17 thoughts on “Moroccan Vegetable Tagine

  1. I LOVE my le creuset too! Just christened my brand spanking new LC shallow casserole with a honey mustard chicken and it was amazing! Can’t believe what a difference it makes

  2. I love these types of slow cooked, un-rushed, unhurried, all day savor the flavor dishes. Winter tends to be the perfect time for these comfort foods. Thank you for posting this!

  3. Love it! For dinner we had lamb tagine cooked in….you guessed it my Le Creuset. Recipe to follow soon on my blog. Tip for those that are a little daunted by the price of them – if you live reasonably close to one of their outlets you can get one of their seconds – they are next to perfect but almost half the price.

  4. Love the look of the dish, but unfortunately I inherited weak wrists from my mum so there’s no way I’ll ever be able to use a le creuset – I can’t carry it empty, let alone full! I will be trying out that recipe though, thanks 🙂

  5. This sounds fabulous! If you can believe it, a friend of ours actually gave us a real tagine for cooking a few years ago. I’ve only used it once, because I have a really hard time finding recipes for it. But I think I might need to use your recipe ASAP and see what I come up with. Thanks for posting!

  6. Just pinned this to my “must try” board on Pinterest. Just in case I forget where I found it. 🙂 Sounds like a wonderfully comforting and rich vegetarian dish, and I’m always on the lookout for those!

Leave a Reply

