Posh Fish and Chips – Pan Fried Salmon with Broccoli and Potato Croquets, Crushed Minted Peas and a Caper and Parsley Mayonnaise

I used to write my recipes down on any piece of scrap paper I could find; usually an envelope from an opened letter, or the letter itself if it was full of rubbish. It then ended up that I would have numerous scraps of food covered paper that I would leave about the flat until I got round to blogging them. This clearly annoyed Sam (not that he would ever say anything as he is too lovely), but he did always clear them away and then had the genius idea that I just got a notebook to write them in. How had I not thought about this before, surely it is just common sense!? Ha! Well, I now have a notebook and my whole blogging life feels a lot more organised.

This recipe has been sat in my new (not so shiny, now covered in food) notebook for nearly 2 weeks waiting for me to blog it. Not because it was not good enough to share straight away, but because I had no idea when cooking it how many ingredients/processes were involved in making it. But I promise, it is all worth it and this recipe was delicious! And I tell you what; it kicks the ass of your battered fish, chips and mushy peas!

aa 015

Serves 2

For the potato and broccoli croquets

–          2 large potatoes – peeled and sliced

–          150g broccoli – chopped into small florets

–          1 small leek – finely sliced

–          50g cream cheese

–          Salt and pepper

–          1 egg – beaten

–          Plain flour

–          Breadcrumbs

For the caper sauce

–          150ml vegetable oil

–          1 egg yolk

–          ½ clove garlic – crushed

–          ¾ tsp mustard powder

–          ½ tsp salt

–          Black pepper

–          1 tsp white wine vinegar

–          1 tbsp capers

–          1 tbsp chopped fresh parsley

For the minted peas

–          200g peas

–          60g butter

–          1 tbsp white wine vinegar

–          ½ tsp dried mint

–          2 tbsp water

For the salmon

–          2 salmon fillets

–          1 tbsp olive oil

–          Salt and pepper

For the potato and broccoli croquets, heat a pan of salty water to boiling and cook the potatoes for 20minutes, or until soft. After 15minutes of cooking, add the broccoli and the leek.

Once cooked, drain the potato and then return to a low heat to steam off any excess water.

Mash the potatoes and the veg with the cream cheese and the salt and pepper until smooth.

Set up 4 plates, one with the flour, the next with the eggs, then with the breadcrumbs and finely a large empty plate for the finished croquet.

One at a time, shape the potato into 8 sausage shapes about 1 inch thick and 4 inches long. Roll the sausage first in the flour, then the egg and finely coat with the breadcrumbs.

Repeat this with each croquet and then chill in the fridge for half an hour to firm up.

To make the sauce whisk together the egg yolk, mustard, garlic salt and pepper and a tiny splash of oil. When the mixture starts to thicken, add another small splash of oil and continue until it starts to look lumpy. When this happens, whisk in the vinegar and then continue to add a little oil at a time.

Once the sauce has reached the consistency of mayonnaise, stir in the parsley and the capers. Set aside until ready to serve.

Pre-heat the oven to 200’C

Bake the croquets in the oven for 40-45 minutes until crispy

Heat an ovenproof frying pan to a high temperature with the olive oil and then fry the salmon, skin side down for 3 minutes until the skin is crispy.

Transfer the salmon to the oven to cook for 5-7 minutes

In the meantime, place all the minted pea ingredients in a pan, bring to the boil and then simmer for 3-5 minutes until the peas are soft.

With a potato masher of a fork, crush the pea’s mixture until everything is well combined.

When all the elements are cooked, plate the ingredients and enjoy!

10 thoughts on “Posh Fish and Chips – Pan Fried Salmon with Broccoli and Potato Croquets, Crushed Minted Peas and a Caper and Parsley Mayonnaise

  1. I like to do posh versions of fish and chips too. Salmon is one of my favourites, with some for of potato and usually a salad like coleslaw. I’m forever surrounded by pieces of brilliance in the form of scraps of paper and I have a small pocket sized notebook and a larger exercise book too. I hope your book works better than mine. Maybe I should tie a ribbon around my pocket sized book and wear it around my neck…

  2. Thank you for dropping in on my blog and liking it. What a delicious recipe you have here – anything that involves salmon and capers must taste good!

  3. This is gorgeous! The whole blog, all the pictures of really good food. Mmmm . . . thinking a lot about how good food can be enjoyed while still staying at a reasonable weight. This blog will help. And btw, thank you for liking my weight loss blog! I’ve lost 30 pounds . . . and I’m trying to do it without sacrificing the pleasures of the good stuff.

  4. Haha yay to the new notebook! I had the same problem as well. So many recipes left abandoned in a scrap of paper just begging to catch my attention again. I’ve never made caper sauce before, and I really want to try your recipe! Thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

