Baileys Cupcakes

When I had my old job I worked earlier hours which meant I would finish work at half three and have more time in the evening (I did however go to bed pretty early). This meant that I actually got to spend more time in the kitchen and I pretty much always baked at least once a week. Recently I have become a bit slack on baking and therefore I felt the urge to make cupcakes. I didn’t want to make just any cupcakes; I wanted to try something a little bit different. We have had a bottle of baileys opened in our cupboard since I make a baileys cheesecake back in March, so I figured making these cupcakes was a perfect excuse to use it up. If you like baileys you will LOVE these, infact even if you don’t like baileys then you will probably still love this as they are super scrummy!

ab 007

For the sponge

–       100g stork margarine (or butter)

–       200g Castor sugar

–       1 tsp cocoa powder

–       2 medium eggs, separated

–       pinch of salt

–       1 tsp cinnamon

–       175g Self raising flour

–       120ml Baileys

For the Icing

–       150g butter

–       350g Icing sugar

–       1-2 tbsp of Baileys

Makes 12 large cupcakes

Preheat the oven to 180C

Line a large 12 hold cupcake/cuffin tin with paper cakes

Sieve flour, salt cinnamon and coca together in a clean bowl and set aside.

Cream the sugar and margarine until pale and fluffy.

Add the egg yolks and beat until well combined.

Alternately beat in a spoonful of the sieved flour mix and a spoonful of the Baileys. Continue to do this until the consistency is smooth and even.

Beat the egg whites until stiff and then fold them into the cake mixture.

Divide the cake mixture between the cases and bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes, until they spring back when touched.

Remove from the oven and leave to cool completely on a wire rack.

Whisk together the topping ingredients, adding 1 tbsp spoon of baileys to start and if the consistency is still pretty firm add the other tbsp..

Spread the icing on the cupcakes with a pallet knife and grate over some dark chocolate if you fancy.

Image

81 thoughts on “Baileys Cupcakes

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I love this recipe. My mother in law makes boxed brownies with Bailey’s frosting that is really good. I prefer the texture of cupcakes, so these sound perfect!

  2. Ha! Obviously, these look like they would be right up my alley! Fabulous! Thanks for liking my 100 Shades of Chocolate blog. I’m glad that I discovered your blog! Looking forward to exploring your creations!

  3. Hi there. Thanks for the “like” on my Date Nut Pinwheel cookies. I’ve really enjoyed visiting your blog and this Bailey’s Cupcake recipe looks great. I’m pinning it.

  4. That cup cake looks so good I can bite the screen^^. To make matters worse I have a cold glass of milk next to me and all I can think of is that cupcake^^. Thanks for sharing

  5. Pingback: Baileys Cupcakes | holyspiritzradio

  6. Pingback: 5000 Followers and a Massive Thank You | Homemade With Mess

Leave a Reply

