Super Moist Beetroot Chocolate Cake

I am going to be a bridesmaid in June and it has been requested by the bride and groom that I make the cake. Now this is not be the usual fancy fruit cake, no, they have requested that the cake represents their interests and the fun they have together; so it is to be of funky décor and healthy unusual sponges. They like the idea of using different vegetable sponges so my first practice is this beetroot chocolate sponge, it uses no dairy and the amazing bright colour of the icing is died from the beetroot juice, how cool is that!? This is not how it will be decorated for the big day but I thought this was fun and colourful and would probably be a great way of getting your kids to eat a healthier alternative cake.

If anyone has any other unusual vegetable or fruit based cake recipes then please share them as I want to make this the most epic cake possible!

y 026

–       180ml corn oil, plus more for the tin

–       190g self-raising flour

–       60g cocoa powder

–       1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

–       250g golden caster sugar

–       250g beetroot, cooked

–       3 eggs

–       1 tsp vanilla extract

–       300g Icing sugar sifted

–       25g White chocolate

–       25g Dark chocolate

Pre-heat oven to 170ºC.

Lightly oil a 23cm round cake tin and line the base with baking parchment.

In a large bowl, sift together the flour, cocoa and bicarbonate of soda and then stir in the sugar. In a food processor, purée the beetroot and then scrape it into a sieve set over a bowl to drain out any over the juices. Set these aside to save for the icing.

Tip the beetroot into a bowl and whisk in one egg at a time, along with the vanilla essence and then slowly pour in the oil while continuing to whisk.

Whisk until it is well combined

Make a well in the centre of the dry ingredients and pour the beetroot mixture into it.

With a wooden spoon, gently fold the mixture together until well combined.

Pour into the tin and bake for 45–50 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean.

Remove the cake from the oven, leave it for 5–10 minutes in the tin and then turn it out on to a wire rack until completely cold.

Meanwhile make the icing by mixing together the icing sugar and beetroot juice until well smooth. Pour this over the cake which still on the rack and allow to drip over the sides (may be worth putting some paper or foil underneath to save the work top getting covered in icing)

Melt the chocolate in turn over in a bowl over simmering water until melted and then drizzle over the cake to decorate. Allow to set before serving

Image

25 thoughts on “Super Moist Beetroot Chocolate Cake

  1. I’ve never made cake using vegetables (except for the usual carrot cake) but I totally want to start. I like how it adds a healthier dimension and always makes cake so moist. This looks incredible! Your friends are in good hands with you making their cake!

  2. Interesting. I can see how beets would keep a cake moist and add an intangible something. One of my high school boyfriend’s mothers made tomato soup chocolate cake. It was surprisingly good.

  3. Try a beet root and carrot cake with caramelized orange rinds. Then layer and soak it in rum.. BTW Your cake has managed to achieve the bridesmaid color also I see.
    Happy Baking!

  4. Super glad you came by and liked my first recipe so I have the opportunity to find you! 🙂

    Was just thinking to myself that the hugely popular Red Velvet cake and its cupcake version should just be done with beets to healthify it and here your recipe is! 🙂

    Also love your tagline. Absolutely! Mess is fun! 🙂

    Hoping to see more of and from you in 2013 and do drop by every now and then.

    Cheers!
    Nasyitah
    http://www.coloursofthedomesticgoddess.wordpress.com

  5. That looks brilliant! I have been trying very hard recently not to put all my vegetables in cakes so will use this as an excuse to start again! I have a few recipes on my blog if you’re interested. Happy New Year!

  6. This looks awesome! I’ve heard of chocolate beetroot cake but I’ve never made it before – I might give your recipe a try. My (dietitian) mum makes chocolate cake with kidney beans (as well as chocolate mousse with avocado instead of eggs and dairy – delish) but I think beetroot would be a bit more moist… sounds yum!

  7. Hi there! I am running a blog carnival called flavor burst and this recipe has really caught my eye. I really like the idea of not using any food coloring as food coloring has all kinds of possible detrimental effects on the human body. I would really like to include this post in the first edition of the blog carnival! Let me know if that would be ok with you!

  8. Pingback: Flavor Burst Edition 01 | Voice In Words

  9. Pingback: Beetroot and Gin Salmon Salad with a Mixed Beans, Feta Cheese and a Dill and Horseradish Dressing | Homemade With Mess

Leave a Reply

