Creamy Camembert, Bacon & Mushroom Spaghetti

So, Christmas 2012 has been and gone and it is almost time for the January de-tox. I say almost, as there are still lots of Christmas leftovers to be used up and New Year party food to be eaten. I have to say I have been very spoilt over the festive period and have had very little opportunity to cook. I say spoilt too in the sense that I have seen lots of family and have had many lovely meals cooked for me, I have however been itching to get in the kitchen the whole time.

While I was at my Mum’s I made a few little bits here and there but the issue I have cooking at my Mum’s is that there are never any sharp knives. Infact, her knives have never seen a sharpener, bearing in mind she has had the same knives for over a decade! I therefore find chopping anything quite stressful and she refuses to pop down top Wilko’s to spend £1 on a sharpener. It makes me appreciate how important having sharp knives is to the efficiency and style of your cooking, let along safety. So Mum if you’re reading this, go and buy a knife sharpener!!!

Anyway, enough of my ranting; I hope you all had a lovely Christmas and if you have any leftover soft cheese from the cheeseboard, bacon from your pigs in blankets or mushrooms from your stuffing them give this meal a try, you won’t be disappointed 😀

Christmas 2012 006

Serves 2

–          200ml milk

–          50g camembert

–          Spaghetti – enough to serve 2

–          Little olive oil for frying

–          1 clove garlic – crushed

–          1 red onion – finely sliced

–          3 rashes bacon – chopped into small chunks

–          8-10 chestnut mushrooms

–          4 egg yolks

–          Large handful baby spinach

Gently heat the milk in a saucepan until just reached boiling point and then stir in the camembert until it was melted. Remove from the heat and set aside to cool a little

Meanwhile cook the spaghetti in salty water until soft, according to the pack instructions

While the spaghetti is cooking, heat the oil in a frying pan and fry the onions for 2-3 minutes on a high heat until they soften. Add the bacon and cook until coloured and turning crispy

Add the garlic for a minute and then stir in the mushrooms. Fry off for 2-3 minutes until cooked.

Whisk the egg yolks into the milk mix and beat in a little salt and pepper

Remove the pasta from the heat, drain and stir in the egg and milk mixture. Keep stirring so it is well coated and then add the mushrooms, bacon and the baby spinach.

Combine well, plate and serve.

15 thoughts on “Creamy Camembert, Bacon & Mushroom Spaghetti

  1. My mum is really good when it comes to knives, her partner is an enthusiastic cook and so she buys him a global knife every Christmas and birthday, in fact her knife roll is beginning to look a lot better than mine now.
    I didn’t buy any Camembert this year, btw that looks delicious, but if mr 5 doesn’t eat the rest of of that revolting piece of Roquefort in the fridge soon i’ll have to make him something with it..

  2. Wow! The use of the camembert cheese must make this so rich, creamy and buttery. I’ve never thought of that – you’re brilliant! I love pasta so I could totally eat a giant bowl of this. Happy holidays!

  3. Pingback: Creamy Camembert, Bacon & Mushroom Spaghetti « leasavage

Leave a Reply

