Roast Beef Baguette with Wholegrain Mustard Mayonnaise, Crunchy Salad and Topped with Caramelised Onions and Mature Cheddar Cheese

Now this has to be the King of all baguettes, it is definitely one that Joey would be proud of! Whenever I think of sandwich loving I can’t help but think about Friend (the TV show that is). I don’t think anyone could have been as obsessed with sandwiches as Joey; well I have to say if you tried this you might be. I would definitely have a very hard job sharing this, infact I think I may even fight for it; and just like Joey would probably choose to save it over most my friends (that is actually an exaggeration my friends are obviously more important to me that a sandwich.) So I think you get my point, if you have any leftover beef from your Sunday roast then make this, otherwise you are mega missing out!!

w 007

Serves 2

For the Caramelised Onions

–          2 red onions – thinly sliced

–          20g butter

–          ½ tbsp. olive oil

–          1 tbsp balsamic vinegar

For the Mayonnaise

–          2 tbsp light mayonnaise

–          1 heap tsp wholegrain mustard

–          Juice of half a lemon

–          Freshly ground black pepper

–          2 baguettes (see yesterday’s recipe for homemade baguettes)

–          Roast beef – thinly sliced

–          ½ courgette – sliced with a veg peeler

–          ½ carrot – peeled and sliced with a veg peeler

–          Grated Mature Cheddar Cheese

Make the caramelised onions by gently frying them in the butter and the oil for 2-3 minutes until they just start to give.

Add the balsamic vinegar and sugar and leave on a medium-low heat for 10-15 minutes until soft and sticky

Meanwhile, mix all the ingredients for your mayo together until well combined

Warm the baguettes and layer them first with the mayo, then the veg and lay the beef on top. Once cooked, spread the onions over the beef and then top with the cheese. The heat from the hot onions and the warm baguette should melt the cheese, delish! Good luck eating this, it’s a messy one!

Image

17 thoughts on “Roast Beef Baguette with Wholegrain Mustard Mayonnaise, Crunchy Salad and Topped with Caramelised Onions and Mature Cheddar Cheese

  1. Thanks for the like on my blog ( Candy Cane Shortbread) and WOW your recipes look awesome. I tend to post more baking recipes but I need to branch out and try some new dinners too!

  2. Hey Homemade with Mess,
    Thanks for viewing Savor the Food. This sandwich looks great. Kind’a looks like it can pass for a pastrami sandwich..one of my favorites. You described yourself over at your profile: http://en.gravatar.com/homemadewithmess
    you said about You ” that I actually have very little interesting to say (how depressing!)…you went on to say..”I have numerous loves;…..my food (and wine) and my memories, but doesn’t everybody??”

    Yes everyone does. But it is how you make it. Is your love of food and your wine worth talking about? When you was at my blog below the theme it says “Food is the picture of 1000 Words”..that’s my culinary quot by the way.. and in my option I would say your recipes and those images are delectable..they say a lot about the love you have for food.

    “And that is my story of how I became a blogger, short and simple, just like me!” Bonaparte was short, simple maybe…history says he did great things.

    By the profile picture you look attractive..and with this culinary food blog you are going to be showing something about you that is better then out ward appearances.

    Thanks for sharing. I hope for your comments and readership at Savor the Food.
    Looking forward to what Homemade With Mess has to post next. 🙂

    Chef Randall
    savorthefood.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

