Winter Lamb Stew and Potato Dumplings

If you are looking for a tasty and warming British winter dish then this would be your King! Typically when I make a stew or casserole I will team it with a great mash potato, however if anything, doing this blog has made me step outside my box a little. This was the first time I have made dumplings, and because of this suet is not one of my store cupboard essentials, and I therefore had to improvise. Although I am not a dumpling expert, these dumplings tasted great (as did the stew). Trust me, this dish will put a smile on anyone’s face and it will warm your cockles when it is dark and miserable outside!

009

For the Lamb Stew

–          2 large parsnips – peeled, cored and roughly chopped

–          1 leek – chopped

–          15 pickling onions – peeled and left whole

–          Glug olive oil

–          2 garlic cloves – crushed

–          400g lamb – cut into chunks

–          1 tbsp plain flour

–          1 sprig rosemary

–          300ml red wine

–          200ml vegetable stock

–          2 bay leaves

–          400g chopped tomatoes

–          1 tsp dried mint

–          Salt and pepper or ½ tsp marmite

For the Dumplings

–          400g Potatoes

–          1850ml milk

–          60g butter

–          225g self-raising flour

–          70g grated cheddar

–          Salt and pepper

Serves 4

Oven to 160’C

In a lidded casserole dish (I use a Le Creuset and love it) fry the onions, parsnips and leeks with a good glug of oil for 7-8 minutes, stirring regularly until starting to brown

Add the lamb and the garlic and stir until the lamb has browned and then add the flour so that all the ingredients are well coated

Add the rest of the ingredients, bring to the boil and simmer on a medium heat for ten minutes to sweat off the alcohol.

Cover place in the oven for 1 and a half to 2 hours.

Meanwhile, to make the dumplings, cook the potato in salted water for 15-20 minutes until soft

Drain and return to the heat. Add the milk and the butter and mash until smooth

Stir in the flour, cheese and seasoning

Shape the dumplings into 6 balls and place on top of your stew.

Turn the heat up to 180’C and cook uncovered for 20 minutes

Image

10 thoughts on “Winter Lamb Stew and Potato Dumplings

  1. Pingback: A chocolate cake from a French heaven, and stew & dumplings « Grumpytyke

  2. Well, you often surprise me but, never made dumplings …? I had to comment on that on my post about stew and dumplings. Unfortunately, as I have said there, lamb stew is out as my wife won’t eat my favourite meat (I sneak in a Barnsley chop now and then but I have to cook her pork chop in a separate pan!).

  3. I cannot tell you how many lamb posts I am seeing right now. I never considered lamb to be an Autumn food but it’s everywhere in foodblogdom. I love lamb and your dish looks and sounds superb! I love the dumplings and pickling onions. Just beautiful.

  4. The lady who got me super-interested in blogging seems to have dropped off the radar. I used to enjoy reading about and seeing photos of her “food travels” around Cape Town South Africa. How do I (we) inspire her again? Well, I thought of asking some inspirational bloggers for help – bloggers who are active and inspire me.
    This message is being only sent to a handful of you – so if you get it and it’s on one of your comment pages; then you know that your site is one of my real favourites for food travel or photography.
    If you get a moment, please pop in and visit Amy’s blog “Miss Jones and the Elusive Food Orgasm”: if you see something you like then kindly let Amy know.
    You might want to perhaps start with: http://missjonesandtheelusivefoodorgasm.wordpress.com/2012/08/24/tables-at-nitida-the-best-burger-ive-had-in-a-while/ .
    Thank you in advance.

Leave a Reply

