Smokey Paprika & Chorizo Risotto

I love risotto! When I was a student I used to eat quite a lot of it; it’s pretty cheap, easy to make and very tasty. Some time ago, I was meeting up with my friend Clare and she had told me she had some ham and courgette in the fridge and thought we could have a risotto with it for dinner. I was actually pretty excited about this as Clare’s most creative cooking at Uni was grating carrot into her Dolmio Bolognese. Little did I know she was actually expecting me to make it (bloody cheek), so that she could learn how to make it. I didn’t actually mind cooking it though, and I am happy to say that she was a great student. I have since heard (not tasted) that Clare now makes a fantastic risotto! Some people are put off by cooking risotto as they have heard that it is tricky to get right, but trust me, anyone can make it and it is much tastier than pasta sauce out a jar!

–          110g chorizo

–          1/2 tbsp olive oil

–          1 red onion – sliced

–          100g red pepper – roughly chopped

–          ½ courgette

–          1 clove garlic – crushed

–          120g risotto/Arborio rice

–          125ml red wine

–          1 ½ tsp smoked paprika

–          250ml hot chicken stock

–          Fresh thyme.

–          Parmesan – grated

Serves 2

In a large saucepan fry the onion and chorizo in the olive oil for 3-5 minutes until the onions are soft.

Add the rice and stir so it is well coated and then stir in the vegetables and the paprika and fry for 2 minutes.

Pour in the red wine and stir until absorbed and then add the stock a ladle at a time and continue to stir until each batch has been absorbed by the rice. If the rice is still not cooked once you have added the last batch then add more stock until the rice is cooked.

Stir in the fresh thyme, top with parmesan and enjoy 😀

10 thoughts on “Smokey Paprika & Chorizo Risotto

  1. Yum – I love paprika!!! Hi Jess, I’m Sarah. I saw that you came by our new and growing blog earlier, and I wanted to say hi and thanks so much for stopping by. I’ve been scrolling through your recipes and my stomach is absolutely grumbling…I want to get home and start cooking right away! It looks like we have very similar food tastes, so I’m so excited to start following you and trying out some of your food in my own kitchen. I’m so glad you like the links for our recent Italian feast; please let us know if you try any out in your own kitchen. Happy cooking!

  2. Thanks for stopping by my blog! I love what you’re doing here and will have to browse through more of your entries. There are some great foods here in Turkey that you might want to try out as well! 🙂

  3. Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your site.

    You have some really good posts and I feel I would
    be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d
    really like to write some content for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please shoot me an email if interested. Many thanks!

  4. Pingback: Nutty Chorizo Egg Fried Rice Salad | Homemade With Mess

Leave a Reply

