2 Ways with Tuna

This meal was not originally what I had in mind when I decided to open a tin of tuna. I was going to make quite a simple salad but if I’m honest the tuna looked a bit mushy and a salad was no longer appealing so I changed tactic and made a wrap (with salad of course) and it was a really great lunch! I even had some of the tuna mix left over that I made a scrummy pasta bake with the next day, so I just had to share the 2 recipes with you!

The tuna mix

–          1 185g tin of tuna

–          2 tbsp natural yoghurt

–          2 tsp freshly chopped mint

–          Squeeze lime

–          ½ red pepper, finely chopped

–          Handful red kidney beans

Simple mix together the above ingredients

Image

For the Wrap

Fill the wrap with the tuna mix, spinach and a drizzle of chilli sauce (I used the chilli sauce I made for my lamb koftas) and serve with a little mixed side salad

For the pasta

–          Enough pasta for 2 people

–          ¾ pint milk

–          1 heap tbsp. corn flour made into a paste with a little water

–          1 crumbled vegetable stock cube

–          1 onion – sliced

–          1 tbsp olive oil

–          8 mushrooms – sliced

–          Remaining tuna mix

–          5 cherry tomatoes – sliced

–          Parmesan

Oven to 180’C

Cook the pasta according to the instructions

Heat the milk in a saucepan and when it has started to steam add the milk mixture and continue to stir until it thickens. Stir in the stock until dissolved

Mix together the pasta, the sauce and the tuna, tip into an oven proof dish and top with grated parmesan cheese

Bake in the oven for 40 minutes and serve with salad and crusty bread to mop up. 

9 thoughts on “2 Ways with Tuna

  1. I made this but substituted milk with rice milk, and regular pasta with gluten-free pasta. This dish was awesome and probably the best tuna type casserole I’ve ever had. My husband went back for 3 and 4 servings!! Will definitely make this again and again 🙂

  2. Pingback: Tuna, Mushroom and Blue Cheese Pasta Bake | Homemade With Mess

Leave a Reply

