Friday Night Pizza – Italian Prosciutto, Caramelised Leeks, Goats Cheese & Mozzarella

This is not my first pizza blog, and probably will not be my last, so from that you can tell I really really really love pizza! I love it so much in fact that there have been several occasions I have cried over pizza. When I was at school there was a take away that did pizza and fries for £1.50 at lunch time. I would only get a £1.00 a day for dinner money so I would get an 85p pasty each day and then save up for pizza and chips once a week as a special treat (such a healthy child!). Well, I have always been the sort of person that will save the best mouthful until last with any meal, so I started by eating my chips from underneath my large slice of pepperoni pizza. This was a huge error, as when I pulled a rather large chip from underneath the pizza in knocked the slice straight off the tray and face down on the floor! To add to that, I was walking past a large group of boys from my year who all proceeded to laugh and mock me. The only word I could use to describe my feelings at this moment is GUTTED! I couldn’t have cared less about the mocking; I was just mourning the loss of my lovely, juicy pepperoni pizza.

The other occasion is less long winded but perhaps even more pathetic, as I once cried because my mum had forgotten she had put a pizza in the oven and it turned out black to a crisp! I should have learnt from the state of the charcoal toast she always made that I would have been better off cooking it myself! (Sorry Mum, you food is very lovely when you don’t get distracted by the cat or excited by a bird in your garden).

I have to say these days I take much more care over my pizza and have shed no more tears in recent years, infact I do feel I have even become a bit of a pizza master, and this pizza is no exception.

Image

This makes 1 large pizza, plus 1 small garlic bread

–          150g strong white bread flour

–          ¾ tsp easy blend dried yeast

–         1/2 tsp salt

–         ¾ tbsp. olive oil

–          90ml warm water

Combine the flour, yeast and salt together in a bowl and make a well in the middle

Mix the oil into the warm water and pour into the well in the middle of the bowl

Stir the flour gradually into the well bringing it in a bit at a time from the side of the bowl.

Get the dough out on a floured worktop and kneed for 5-10 mins until smooth and elastic

Grease a clean bowl with olive oil and put the dough into this, covering with an oiled sheet of cling film

Place somewhere warm (I put mine in the airing cupboard) and leave to rise for about an hour.

For the sauce

–          1 x 400g tomatoes

–          1 clove of garlic

–          2 tables spoons tomato puree

–          1 dsp Worcester sauce

–          1dsp sugar

Gently fry the garlic in a little bit of oil until golden

Add all the other ingredients, bring to the boil and then simmer for 10 minutes.

Blend ingredients and season to taste.

(You will probably have a fair bit of this sauce left, which you can use to make a great pasta bake, or spread on toast, topped with cheese and grilled.)

For the toppings:

–          1 small leek – chopped

–          Small nob butter

–          1 tsp Sugar (or I used some left over cauliflower puree from yesterday’s meal)

–          Prosciutto ham

–          Soft Goats Cheese

–          Mozzarella

–          Fresh Rocket

–          Flaky parmesan

Turn oven to 200’C

Gently fry the leeks in the butter until soft and then add wither the sugar or the puree and simmer over a gentle heat for 5 minutes. Set aside until needed

When you dough is ready roll out so it is about 1mm thick and line a round pizza tray, the ones with holes in are best as they make the basis crispy.

Cover with your toppings and bake in the oven for 12 minutes

Image

DA DAHHH!

Image

9 thoughts on “Friday Night Pizza – Italian Prosciutto, Caramelised Leeks, Goats Cheese & Mozzarella

  1. Way, way to good to pass up! What a great way to spend a Friday on a nice cold and crisp autumn night! I look forward to seeing more!

  2. Pingback: Mexican Chicken Calzone with Hot Salsa and Cheese Sauce | Homemade With Mess

Leave a Reply

