The Making of a Perfect Wrap – Roasted Garlic and Red Pepper Chilli Sauce

The company I work for has a couple of offices in London, and so often will travel there for a meeting or visit. It is usually a very long and busy pretty but I was lucky this week to have a meeting involved going out, seeing the sites and sucking in the atmosphere. Even though I have been to many a times, the place still amazes me. There is always so much to suck in, and every day is bustling as if it were the Saturday before Christmas. The main thing that fascinated me was the sheer popularity for wraps, and not just any old Fajita, you name it and it came in a wrap! Street food was abundance; Indian, Chinese, Mexican, Jamaican, Italian, British, I could bore you with the list and every stall offered their food in a wrap! The whole experience really inspired me to come home and make my own wrap creation. So my next couple of blogs will be just a few of what I believe to be the sort of food that really makes a wrap. You need a hearty filling; be it a meat dish, pulses or some sort of root vegetable cake, and you also need a number of sauces, dips and salads. The whole thing needs to be a massive taste explosion!!!

So, the first wrap essential recipe I am going to give you is a chilli sauce recipe. Now this is not just any chilli sauce, it is positively amazing! Think roasted garlic, think red pepper, think heat and think sweet! This recipe made a fair amount of this sauce, so watch this space for some more recipes you can use it for, if you don’t gobble it up quick that is!!

Image

–          3 cloves garlic – left whole

–          1 red pepper – roughly chopped

–          1 tbsp olive oil

–          1-2 red chilli’s

–          Juice ½ lime

–          ½ tsp chilli powder

–          130g tomatoes – chopped

–          ½ tbsp tomato puree

–          1 tbsp water

–          2 tsp sugar

–          Pinch sugar

Oven to 200’C

Roast the garlic and peppers for 20 minutes

Squeeze the garlic out the skin and combine all the ingredients together

Whiz with a food processer until the liquid is smooth

You now have an amazing chilli sauce to use with anything you please 😀 (especially wraps) 

Image

3 thoughts on “The Making of a Perfect Wrap – Roasted Garlic and Red Pepper Chilli Sauce

  1. Can you sense me drooling over there in the U.K.? I hope not! I tried to cover it up but it didn’t work. No fair posting delicious recipes like this for me to find in my inbox when I first wake up! Off to make this and slather it on everything!

Leave a Reply

