Easy Low Fat Fresh Strawberry Ice Cream

I think I may have just missed the boat here as we are not exactly in the height of summer, more like the way out of it. However turn up the heat in your house and it can always be the time for ice cream! I haven’t made the most of my ice cream maker, and for the first time in months there has been a bit of room in the freezer so I thought; what the hay, I’ll make ice cream. Well I say ice cream, but this actually involves no cream, but it tastes even better than the real stuff! I think this recipe could be the way forward, it is lower in fat, easier, quicker, uses less ingredients (therefore cheaper!) and tastes friggin amazing. When I transferred the contents of the ice cream maker to the freezer I gave some to Sam to try and his face lit up. His parents used to take them to this little tea shop as a child for a treat to have the most amazing organic ice cream and he said it tasted just like that, if not better.

If you don’t have an ice cream maker you can still make this, you will just need to have a day staying in and stirring the mixture up every 20 minutes. It’s time consuming but the end result is so worth it. While I was in the mood for making ice cream I also made sorbet so look out for that recipe tomorrow 😀Image

–          300g low fat crème fraiche

–          1 tsp vanilla

–          300g fresh strawberries

–          120g caster sugar

Take the greed tops off the strawberries and put in a food processor with the sugar and the vanilla

Whiz the strawberries into a puree but don’t worry about a couple of lumps as this will just add to the texture

Tip the crème fraiche into the bowl with the strawberries and stir.

Transfer the mixture to an ice cream machine (of freeze and manually whisk up the mixture every 20minutes until nearly set) and follow the manufactures instructions

Finish off by freezing until set and then serve and enjoy!

15 thoughts on “Easy Low Fat Fresh Strawberry Ice Cream

    • You could definitely use soya milk to make ice cream, but you would have to use the traditional method with egg yolks I would imagine. Do they do a soya version of creme fraiche, because that should work if they do?

    • Yeah it should be fine, although I’m sure it will get gobbled up pretty quick but it’ll keep like normal ice cream. My food safety catering head would say keep it for a month but it’l probably last longer.

    • Yeah it should be fine, although I’m sure it will get gobbled up pretty quick but it’ll keep like normal ice cream. My food safety catering head would say keep it for a month but it’l probably last longer.

  1. Thanks for visiting my blog and liking the irish cream brownies. I really find your “easy low fat fresh strawberry ice cream” quite tasty. The whisking tip if no ice cream maker is great. Thanks again.

  2. Just made this delicious Ice cream followed your instructions but I added a small amount of cooked Rhubarb and it really worked well with it and the colour is just like your picture. Thanks for such an easy tasty ice-cream to make.

    • Oooo Rhubarb sounds like a lovely addition, my mum grows it on her allotment so I will have to try it when it is in season. Thank you for making the recipe, I am so please you liked it! It’s always great to hear feedback 😀

Leave a Reply

