Homemade Chunky Guacamole

Guacamole is one of my favourite things in the world! Strangely enough I never really used to like avocado’s and I had only ever tired supermarket guacamole, which I now know is rubbish in comparison to the real thing. Its funny how one experience can just change your whole perspective on something. I had friends over for a bit of a Christmas party and thought I would make loads of nibble bits and dips for people to just snack on and so I made some guacamole for the first time, with the guests in mind. Well, it was so good that I nearly ate it all before they arrived and since then avocados are always on my shopping list and guacamole is probably one of my most regular makes. It just goes to show that sometimes you may have an image or a certain memory of a certain food in your head that perhaps is not so great and therefore you avoid it, but you shouldn’t because you can always get something out of food that you may never have expected and it is so worth it when you do!

Image

–         2 small ripe avocados

–         Juice of 1 lime

–         1 red chilli – finely chopped

–         ½ small red onion – finely chopped

–         ½ tsp ground coriander

–         4 cherry or 1 large tomato – roughly chopped

–         Salt and pepper

Mash the avocado’s with the lime juice until relatively smooth. A few small lumps will add to the chunky texture so don’t worry about mashing too much

Stir in the remaining ingredients and season to taste

Tune in for tomorrow’s blog and I will give you some great ideas of different ways to eat guacamole!

16 thoughts on “Homemade Chunky Guacamole

  1. Love this – I was the same with avocados/supermarket guacamole until I made my own. The season for avos here in Spain is finishing now (boo) but usually we get both Hass and Fuerte, both great for guacamole making. Yummy.

  2. Pingback: Thank you Thursday – Homemade with Mess | Paradise has mosquitoes

  3. Pingback: Meatless Monday – Vegetable Chilli “Burrichiladas” | Homemade With Mess

  4. Pingback: Tuna Ragu Filled Wrap Baskets, Topped with a Baked Egg and Parmesan | Homemade With Mess

  5. Pingback: Chipotle Barbequed Steak Burritos | Homemade With Mess

Leave a Reply

