Sticky Gingerbread Loaf

This is one of those recipes that takes you right back to your childhood. It is traditional, homely and the exact kind of thing you would always have at your granny’s with afternoon tea. Infact, this cake would not be out of place on your tradition cream tea tower or W.I meeting; it oozes Britishness and tastes like home. Eat it smothered in butter, warm and drizzled with custard or cream, or simply on its own; either way there is no change you won’t love it!

Image

–         8 ounces self raising flour

–         1 tsp baking powder

–         1 pinch salt

–         3 teaspoons ground ginger

–         1 inch size piece of fresh ginger, finely grated

–         2 ounces butter or margarine

–         2 ounces soft brown sugar

–         4 tbps black treacle

–         4 tbsp golden syrup

–         2 eggs, beaten and mixed with milk to make 1/2 pint

–         4 ounces raisins

Pre-heat oven to 180C

Grease and line a loaf tin

Mix the flour with the salt, baking powder, ginger & raisins

Melt the butter or margarine and the sugar, black treacle – mixing them together very well.

Add the butter mixture to the flour mixture – and mix with a wooden spoon.

Gradually beat in the egg and milk mixture to make a smooth, thick batter.

Pour into the greased and lined 2 lb loaf tin and bake for about 45 minutes, or until a skewer when inserted comes out clean.

The gingerbread loaf should be well risen and slightly sticky to the touch, although it gets stickier the longer it is kept.

24 thoughts on “Sticky Gingerbread Loaf

  1. My mum used to make something similar to this when I was growing up. I can get golden syrup fortunately. And I’ll have to use molasses which is a bit darker as I don’t think I can get treacle. But I’ll have to try this. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Curious food #3: Abram Lyle & Sons Black Treacle «

  3. This sounds sooooo good. and with cream or custard? A dish of this would have to be pried out of my cold dead hands. I am going to make the next time we have a miserable rainy weekend and enjoy the smells in the house and the warmth of the oven. Sounds like it would be good with breakfast with a cup of tea as well. And…thank you for stopping by my blog and enjoying the post about corn soup! Please come by and visit again.

  4. Now this is GOOD! I might end up dreaming about this tonight…and tomorrow night…and the night after that until I get off my lazy derierre and make it! Slathered with butter…dunked in hot tea…oh MAN I need this loaf!

  5. Looks good! I would have to make a few substitutions, as I can’t get everything, but it would still be something I’d love to try 🙂 Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

