Roasted Squash and Red Pepper Lasagne, Layered with Creamy Summer Greens

I think lasagne has to be my all-time favourite meal; it is a close call between that and pizza. Actually now I am thinking about it there are loads of dinners that I would class as my favourite. Anyway, enough of the ranting; I think lasagne is great! If I were on death row it would be my last meal, although if I were on death row I would probably only deserve gruel and not heavenly lasagne. Thankfully I can ear lasagne whenever I want, and I do; usually when I am hung-over and in need of some tummy TLC. This recipe is not my signature lasagne recipe (I’m not quite ready to give that one away) but its bloody good anyway. My trick is to always have a secret cheesy surprise layer in the middle and this recipe is no exception. You will get a lovely stringy cheesy layer of fresh greens to enjoy. Not only delicious but full of amazing healthy vegetables too. Go on, give it a try!

Image

Serves 6 (or 4 if you love it so much and have to keep going back for more)

–       235g butter nut squash – cut into 1.5cm squared

–       1 red pepper – cut into squares

–       1 tbsp light soy sauce

–       1 small onion, finely chopped

–       1 clove garlic

–       135g sliced mushrooms

–       1 tin chopped tomatoes

–       50ml red wine

–       1 tbsp tomato puree

For the creamed greens

–       15g butter

–       1 small red onion – finely chopped

–       1 small courgette, finely grated

–       1 small leek – finely chopped

–       1 pint semi skimmed milk

–       2 heaped tbsp corn flour

–       1 tsp mustard powder

–       1 vegetable stock cube – crumbled

–       90g edam cheese – grated

–       9 sheets of lasagne

–       Grated Parmesan

Set the oven to 180’C

In a roasting tin, coat the squash and the red pepper in the soy sauce and roast for 25-30 minutes

In the meantime dry fry the onion in a non-stick covered pan for 5-7 minutes. Add the garlic for another minute to brown

Pour in the tomatoes, mushrooms, wine and puree and leave to simmer. When your roasted veg is cooked then add this to the mix to.

Heat the butter in a deep frying pan and sauté the red onion for a few minutes until it starts to soften and go clear. Add the courgette and leeks and continue to sauté on a low heat until all the mixture is cooked and soft.

While these are sizzling away, heat the milk in a saucepan until it is steaming. Mix the corn flour with a little water to make a paste and stir this into the milk once it has started to steam. Continue to stir until the sauce has thickened and then stir in the stock cube and the mustard and remove from the heat.

Pour a third of the white sauce into the pan with the greens and mix well.

Now layer the lasagne, first with half the squash mix and add a layer of lasagne sheets. Top this with the creamy greens and sprinkle over the edam. Add another layer of lasagne sheets and top this with the remaining squash mix. Add the final layer of lasagne and then pour over the remaining white sauce.

Sprinkle over the parmesan and some freshly ground pepper and bake in the oven for 40 minutes until golden brown on top.

Serve with fresh salad and garlic bread

Image

7 thoughts on “Roasted Squash and Red Pepper Lasagne, Layered with Creamy Summer Greens

  1. Looks lovely, I just wonder if it is rather sweet? (I was going to say I’m not a sweet person…. what I mean is I’m not that keen on sweet savoury foods!)

  2. Another scrumptious recipe to add to my bulging recipe file AND I can veganise this one easily…I am feeling the strong desire to add this blog to my rss feed reader…my cram packed to the back gills rss feed reader BUT just one more…its only wafer thin! 😉

Leave a Reply

