Herb Crusted Lamb Chops with Pea Colcannon and Red Wine Jus

To put this recipe in simple terms its griddled lamb chops, mashed potato and red wine gravy, with just a few simple tasty additions. I always find mashed potato is a simple way of sneaking in some of your 5 a day without really noticing. You can include so many vegetables into mash potato; carrots, swede, cabbage, parsnip, broccoli, squash, peas, grated courgette (need me to go on!). In this instance the cabbage and the peas gave the mash a whole different dimension, with extra flavours and textures. If the lamb chops and the red wine weren’t so dam delicious I think I could have just had a bowl of mash! The whole combination of this meal worked so great together that if you don’t like it then I will eat me hat!

Image

For the Lamb Chops

–       4 lamb chops

–       Juice of half a lemon

–       1 tsp rosemary

–       1 tsp mint

For the Pea Colcannon

–       390g peeled and sliced good mashing potatoes

–       150g white cabbage cut up into thin slices

–       1 tsp wholegrain mustard

–       30g butter

–       1 white onion, sliced

–       1 clove of garlic

–       50g peas

–       Dash milk

–       Salt and pepper

For the red wine Jus

–       300ml red wine

–       1 shallot, finely chopped

–       1 tbsp spoon olive oil

–       200ml beef stock

–       20g butter

Serves 2

Marinate the lamb chops in the herbs, lemon juice and a good twist of salt and pepper. Leave at room temperature while you prep and cook the rest of the ingredients

Bring the potatoes to boil in salty water and the steam the white cabbage over the top of it, for 10 minutes.

In the meantime make a start on the red wine jus by frying the shallot in the olive oil until soft. Add the red wine and bring to the boil. Leave on a slightly reduced heat until it had reduced by a half, this should take about 7-10 minutes

When the cabbage has softened, remove from the steam and fry in a frying pan with the onion and butter for about 7-10 minutes. Taste the potato; it will probably need another 5-10 minutes to soften once you have removed the cabbage. When it is cooked, strain and then return to the heat for a few seconds to get rid of the excess water

Once the red wine has reduced add the beef stock, and again, leave to reduce by half for another 7-10 minutes.

When the onions are cooked, add in the peas fry for 2 minutes. Mash the veg and onion mixture together with the milk and the salt and pepper until it is of a soft and smooth texture. If you need to cover and place in a warm oven until the other elements are ready to serve.

Heat a griddle pan to a high heat and fry the lamb chops for 2-3 minutes on each side, depending on how you like them.

Strain the red wine jus over a sieve and then stir in the butter until it has melted and the jus has a glossy sheen.

Serve the lamb chops on top of the colcannon with drizzle with the jus.

18 thoughts on “Herb Crusted Lamb Chops with Pea Colcannon and Red Wine Jus

  1. Hmm. Nice. But Colcannon? C’mon. Nah. Colcannon is Irish and traditionally made from mashed potatoes and curly kale (or cabbage), with scallions (spring onions), butter, salt and pepper added. Sometimes it has milk, cream, leeks, onions and chives. Or so my Irish ma told me.

      • Yup. Got that. I just always think Its best to leave traditional Irish recipes alone. I call my stuff something different. Does sound nice though so I will still give it a go. Guess I’m just an oldie. No offence meant. Sorry that’s how my comment sounded after I read it. Feel free to delet. Tony

  2. Thank you for visiting my blog. Thought I would pop by to have a look at yours, first post I came upon was this one. Looks great and I am always on the hunt for side dishes to go with lamb, may try this out tomorrow.

  3. Nice. thanks for being the first to like my first post! I am struggling with the site template at the moment which is frustrating but I hope you get the concept of my food blog!

    • Well it looks great to me and you have some really lovely pics! I would like to spend more time with photography but my life has been taken over by food (and a full time job) but I love it 😀

      • likewise. I’ve always concentrated on photography but wanted a food blog too but couldn’t find the right reason for it. When I read the article about Glencore that sparked it for me. Best..

  4. I popped over ’cause you liked my post, and now I’m going to have to raid the fridge before bed because of your delicious looking posts! 😛

    Great recipes – I’m going to have to give some a go!

  5. This looks delicious! I chuckled at how you brought it right down to reality in the first sentence with this, “it’s griddled lamb chops w/ mashed potato &… The resaurant industry has gone overboard in naming every single element on the plate and its country of origin/ farm of growth in my mind. Keepin’ it real is good.
    *anna

Leave a Reply

