Green Thai Curry Paste

So here is yet another Thai recipe for you; I can’t help it, I’m obsessed! It is also quite ironic seeing as I have never been to Thailand, but it most certainly is on my wish list. Even though this will be my third Thai recipe since starting just 2 months ago, I have definitely become more inventive with my Thai cooking. I was always so obsessed with my red Thai recipe that I got so comfortable with and never really branched out to try something new. Having a food blog has made me leave my comfort zone and be a bit more creative, and I love it! I have no doubt that this is the third of many more Thai recipes to come (maybe one day I will even get to go and try the real thing!)

Image

–          1-3 green chilli’s (depending on how much you love your spice) – roughly chopped

–          1 stork of lemon grass – roughly chopped

–          1 tsp ground coriander

–          1 small onion, finely sliced

–          ½ tsp shrimp paste

–          2 garlic cloves

–          7g (large handful) chopped fresh basil

–          11g (large handful) chopped fresh coriander

–          2 garlic cloves, chopped

–          1 thumb size piece fresh ginger, grated

–          Zest and juice of 1 lime

–          1 tsp sugar

–          3 tbsp fish sauce

–          1 pinch chilli flakes

Combine all the above ingredients and whizz into a paste in a blender or with a stick blender.

This should keep in the fridge for about a week. 

16 thoughts on “Green Thai Curry Paste

  1. sounds nice. hm, i wonder if i can replace the shrimp paste & fish sauce by adding some edible seaweed (and maybe a little soy sauce?). could also be an option for the above comment.

  2. I make green curry paste when basil and cilantro are both in the markets and keep it in jars in the freezer to eat it year-round. I use a whole bunch of cilantro in mine, including the roots, and my paste has some turmeric in it, too.

  3. So tasty. I highly recommend hunting down some curry leaves (I think you can order online from Kalustan’s in NY) and adding them to your recipe. I’m completely addicted.

    To replace shrimp paste, try toasting dried chilies until they are nice and charred. To replace fish sauce, I’m trying grated and toasted shitake mushrooms, “rehydrated” in olive oil with plenty of smoked salt. Galangal would help, if you can find it.

  4. Thank yo for liking my post “pan fried tomato salad”. I will have plenty of curry recipes in the future. I recently made Penang curry paste and Thai red curry paste. I was then eating curries for 2 weeks. I’ve even got a bit left in the fridge but….I need a curry brealk:-)

  5. Pingback: Thai Spiced Squash and Coconut Soup | Homemade With Mess

Leave a Reply

