Baked Blueberry Cheesecake

I have to confess this is the first time I have actually cooked with blueberries, I usually find they are simply perfect on their own. However the last few weeks other blogs have been inundated by beautiful blueberry recipes, I just had to jump on the band wagon, and I am so glad I did. I also like to think that using fruit in baking takes a small amount of guilt away from eating it. Yes this recipe has lots of cheese, and butter, and sugar in it but it also has fruit! I don’t think this argument will stand up in the healthy eating court, but hey, I like to believe it!Image

–          75g butter

–          200g digestive biscuits – crushed

–          500g low fat soft cheese

–          1 x 397g tin condensed milk

–          1tsp vanilla extract

–          3 eggs

–          Finely grated zest of 1 lemon

–          150g blueberries

Melt the butter in a pan. Remove from the heat and stir in the the biscuit crumbs

Tip the mixture into a 23cm loose based tin, pressing them down so that they are well set within the tin. Chill in the fridge for about half an hour

Pre-heat the oven to 170’c

Make the filling by beating together the cheese, condensed milk, vanilla, eggs and lemon juice.

Pour the filling over the biscuit base and then sprinkle the blueberries over the top.

Place in the middle shelf of the oven and bake for 1 hour, until set.

Remove, and leave to cool before serving

26 thoughts on “Baked Blueberry Cheesecake

  1. WOW, that looks amazing! My eyes bulged a bit at the ’75g of butter’ part, but ah well, all in moderation right.
    Great blog, and thanks for the like!
    G

    • Ha! If you think 75g butter is a lot you should see some of my other baking recipes! Although if you are looking for a more guild free pudding then check out my eton mess recipe (it has no butter in it) 😀

      • Do you take requests? If so I have one, a Red Velvet Cheesecake. There isn’t much I wouldn’t do to be able to make it at home.

  2. Now I’m especially happy we put netting over our bushes this summer and have kept both the squirrels and the birds from stripping the blueberries.
    And, oh yes, they are is season.

  3. Now I know what I’m going to do with all the blueberries I just picked! This looks amazing. Thanks for visiting my blog and so glad it lead me to yours. Funny but my son just returned last month from a trip to Bristol (we live in the U.S.). He works for Saint Gobain Corp. He loved it there!

  4. Pingback: Photos of the Week #11 | paperbagblog

Leave a Reply

