The Modernisation of The Great British Prawn Cocktail – With Avocado and Chilli

Prawn cocktail is one of those vintage British dishes that sadly you can only seem to find it on the menu of places with carpets that are so patterned they hurt your eyes, and even 6 years after the smoking ban still smell of cigarettes and stale beer (I actually love those places).  The prawn cocktail had its height of popularity during the 1960’s through to the 1980’s. People went mad for the seafood sauce and buttered sliced bread, and I can see why, prawn cocktails are awesome! I however would like to see these on menu’s in fancy restaurants and cosy bistros, so I think it is now time to spruce up this dish and bring it into the 21st century. This alternative recipe is officially scrumdidilyuptious! It has everything that you want out of a dish; full flavour, a mixture of textures and little heat that is cooled off by smooth avocado and tangy citrus hints. You will definitely impress your guests with this at any dinner party!

Image

Serves 1

–          10 king prawns

–          Sweet chilli sauce (check out my easy sweet chilli sauce recipe)

–          Large Handful of roughly chopped spinach

–          Sprinkle of freshly chopped coriander

Avocado Salsa – Mix together the following ingredients

–          1 small fresh chilli

–          ½ small avocado, chopped into squares

–          Juice of ¼ of a lemon

–          ½ tsp chilli sauce

–          ½ small red onion, very finely chopped

–          1 tsp tomato puree

Avocado Mayo – mash together the following until smooth

–          ½ small avocado – mashed

–          1 dsp light mayonnaise

–          Juice of ¼ lemon

Prepare your avocado salsa and mayonnaise.

Heat a griddle pan to a high temperature

Drizzle the prawns in chilli sauce and heat lay on the hot griddle pan for about 30 seconds. Season with some salt and flip them over to grill for on the other side for another 30 seconds.

Layer your glass; first with the spinach, then the salsa, prawns and the Mayo. Sprinkle with the fresh coriander and enjoy 😀 

14 thoughts on “The Modernisation of The Great British Prawn Cocktail – With Avocado and Chilli

  1. I love those places too. Recently I found myself in the Midlands hotel where I ate prawn cocktail, followed by a roast from the carvery, followed by black forest gateau. That was in 1978. I was 11 years old and the food was delicious! When I stepped into that hotel’s lobby again in about 2008 I saw that the carpet was clean but it hadn’t been renewed.
    Because of these happy memories, and because I’m proud to be a native of the Midlands, I confess that I’m not really tempted to update the prawn cocktail! Your verstion does look lovely though.

    • That sounds like the perfect 3 course meal! I do definitely recommend you do try this recipe though, just call it a prawn and avocado salad and then it wont be an attempt to change the prawn cocktail 😀

      • You speaka my language!
        I’d love to try your prawn and avocado salad. It reminds me of some of the lunches I ate in Georgetown, Washington DC. All the food there was great but they don’t know how to make a proper cup of tea.
        Anyway, we’ve only just e-met so there’s no reason why you’d know that I’m disabled. That limits my ability to make my own food, these days, so sadly I’m often restricted to admiring recipes without making the food.

  2. This looks absolutely delicious & it has all my favourite flavours! Will have to rustle this up for myself next time I find myself eating on my own; such a pity my family can’t eat prawns ):

Leave a Reply

