Sticky Ginger Cake With Salted Caramel Icing

I love baking! It is quite difficult to bake when there are only 2 of you. I used to bake on a weekly basis but got to the stage where I was constantly eating cake and feeling like a bit of a pudding. Now don’t get me wrong, I do still bake a lot, and when I do my boyfriend is force fed cups of tea and cake until he is almost sick. There is also always the threat that ‘if all the cake doesn’t get eaten then I won’t bake again!’ This is of course a lie, as I love to bake, but I also don’t like seeing food go to waste because two people physically cannot eat that amount of cake without giving themselves some sort of heart failure. So when there is a birthday, or a special occasion, I marvel in it. This was a cake I had never tried before and it was so so good! The second that the sponge came out the oven I was excited. It was sticky and moist and smelt so good; and don’t even get me started on the icing. The salted caramel icing is possibly the best icing I have ever tasted, and that is not an over statement. If you don’t believe me, you will just have to try it for yourself!

Image

–          140g unsalted butter

–          200g caster sugar

–          60g black treacle

–          60g golden syrup

–          2 eggs, plus 2 egg yolks

–          300g plain flour

–          1tsp ground ginger

–          1tsp ground nutmeg

–          2 tsp baking powder

–          1tsp salt

–          240ml warm milk

For the Icing

–          125g caster sugar

–          80ml vanilla yoghurt

–          ½ tsp salt

–          1tsp vanilla extract

–          160g salted butter, softened

–          200g icing sugar

–          Large handful of walnuts to decorate

Preheat the oven to 170’c and line and grease 2x 23cm round cake tins

Beat the butter and sugar together in a bowl until light and creamy         

Beat in the treacle, syrup and eggs

Combine the flour, ginger, nutmeg, salt and baking powder, sift in half the flour into the butter mixture and then whisk in half the milk.

Add the remaining flour mixture and the rest of the milk and beat until combined.

Divide the mixture between the cake tins and bake for 30 – 35 minutes.

Remove the cakes from the tin and leave to cool on a rack

For the salted caramel icing, heat the sugar with 4 tablespoons of water in a saucepan over a gentle heat.

Once the sugar has dissolved, increase the heat and cook for 3-4 minutes, until golden brown and slightly thickened.

Reduce the heat slightly to bring to caramel down to a low temperature.

 

Remove from the heat and immediately stir in the the yoghurt. Stir in the salt and vanilla and leave to cool completely.

Cream together the butter and icing sugar and then beat in the caramel.

Use half the icing to sandwich the sponges together and use the other half for the top.

Decorate to taste; I used chopped walnut pieces for mine and just scattered them over the top.

55 thoughts on “Sticky Ginger Cake With Salted Caramel Icing

  1. Would love to try this ginger cake. Looked around in Tennessee for gingerbread and did not find it around Christmas. This sounds better! (Here’s an uninformed American asking, what is a caster of sugar?)

    • Caster sugar is just a fine sugar. It is the type that is commonly used in baking and cakes. I didn’t know it had a different name in the US, I have googled it and I think you might call it ‘super fine sugar’ I could be wrong though.

  2. This looks so delicious. We aren’t doing grains much anymore, but the next time I need something sweet and we want a treat, I will certainly be trying this. Oh…and thanks for checking out my blog. So nice to “meet” other people who love real food as much as I do.

    Cheers,
    Debbie

  3. When i first moved out with my girlfriend we had a spare room with only a park bench and a little table and a big window in it, we made it the cake and tea room and every week i would make a different cake to eat in the cake room. We soon had to give up on the weekly cake for our wellbeing so I know exactly what you mean:) thanks for stopping by my blog.

  4. THATS IT! I can’t resist any more…I might not be able to waddle my way out of the door in the morning (all your fault) but…I will add you to my rss feed reader!

  5. This looks great. I just found your blog. I lived in Australia for awhile, so learned the most of the different baking and ingredient terms, but you’ve got me with black treacle. If you don’t know the American equivalent (wouldn’t expect you to), could you describe it? FYI, if someone asks you about caster sugar in the future, just tell them it’s our regular sugar.

  6. Pingback: 500 Blog Post Celebration (well, 501 now!) | Homemade With Mess

Leave a Reply

