Thai Beef Panang Curry

Can you tell I love spicy food? I feel like every other dish I eat contains chilli’s, but I love it! I especially love Thai spicy food, as I believe I have already mentioned in my red Thai curry blog. This Panang curry is different to the red; it is richer, slightly thicker and has more of a warming authentic spice, as apposed to the hot citrus kick of the red curry. I have been so in love with the red curry that it is very rare that I branch out and try something different but I am glad I did as this was yummy! It was also a good recipe to use up my leftover roast beef and vegetables from my roast dinner, I also threw in some eggs to add some different textures to the dish.

Image

For the paste

  • 1/2 red onion, roughly chopped
  • 3cm piece ginger – grated
  • 2 bird’s-eye chillies, seeds removed, roughly chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves – crushed
  • 2 kaffir lime leaves, roughly chopped
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp fish sauce
  • 1 tsp shrimp paste
  • 4 tbsp tomato purée
  • 1 tbsp paprika
  • 1 tbsp ground cumin
  • 1 tbsp ground coriander
  • ½ tsp ground cinnamon
  • ½ tsp turmeric
  • ¼ tsp ground nutmeg
  • ¼ tsp ground cloves

For curry

  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 1 stork of lemon grass cut into strips
  • 1 courgette, cut into fine strips
  • 1 orange pepper, cut into fine strips
  • 250g beef, sliced thinly
  • 200ml vegetable stock
  • 400ml coconut milk
  • 1 lemon, juice only
  • 3 boiled eggs

To serve

  • 300g/11oz Thai jasmine rice, steamed

To make the paste blend all the paste ingredients together

Fry the onion in the sesame oil for 5 minutes until soft

Add the vegetables, lemon grass and beef and fry for another 5 minutes.

Stir in the curry paste until all the ingredients are coated

Pour in the stock and bring to boil, reduce the heat and stir in the coconut milk

Simmer for 5 minutes and serve with sticky jasmine rice or noodles

8 thoughts on “Thai Beef Panang Curry

  1. Looks great and I love Thai curry so look forward to trying this soon. The one with fish looked good too! Thanks much for stopping by my blog 🙂

  2. I love curries, and am always too afraid to try them (I’m worried I’d wind up with something bland and boring). But this looks good enough to get me to try it out

    • You definately should, it is extremely tasty and not at all bland. I find homemade curries so much tastier than shop bought, I can not bring myself to even buy pastes from shops, as they are so easy and tasty to make!

Leave a Reply

