Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup

It’s no secret that I love a good soup. Growing up, the only soup I would eat was Heinz Cream of Tomato. In fact I still bloody love the stuff! I remember going out for a big family meal in quite a posh restaurant (I was forced to wear a dress so it had to be posh), and I looked at the menu and saw ‘tomato soup and a roll’. The first two things that popped into my head when I saw this were Heinz Cream of Tomato and a puff pastry sausage roll. Being from Nottingham, the only thing we associate with rolls are sausages; what is classed as a bread roll is actually called a ‘cob’. This must be very confusing for people passing through and see businesses labelled as ‘Cob Shops’; what do they expect to buy, a horse?! Anyway, I ordered this ‘tomato soup and roll’ and actually cried when it came out. It was chunky soup with actual tomatoes in, and bread!! I was looking forward to my creamy soup out of a tin and my meaty pastry treat; I didn’t actually expect to get real vegetables, and be anything along the lines of good for me!

I am very happy to say that I have now overcome my soup snobbery and I will now branch out and try the real thing. This recipe, I would even go as far as to say, is better than Heinz; and if you don’t believe me you will just have to try it for yourself!

Image

–          2 large peppers – roughly chopped

–          2 onions – roughly chopped

–          6 cloves of garlic

–          2 tbsp olive oil

–          1 x 400g tin tomatoes

–          1 ½ pints vegetable stock

–          2 dsp tomato puree

–          Salt and Pepper to taste

Set the oven to 180’C

Toss the peppers, onions and garlic in the olive oil and roast for 30-40 minutes

One removed, put in a pan with all the other ingredients and simmer for 15 minutes.

Blend until smooth and then push through a colander, leaving you with a smooth and shiny soup.

Return to the heat and season to taste.

To serve I melted some goats cheese with some milk and herbs and drizzled on top of the soup.

It also goes fantastically with my ‘Home-Baked Roasted Tomato and Onion Bread Recipe’

15 thoughts on “Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup

    • I think it’s just a British thing to be honest, I know lots of people all over the UK that love it. I am from Calverton if you know it? Although I am living in Bristol now, but I still manage to go back every couple of month.

  1. I am from the USA and this recipe sounds wonderful. However, you folks measure things differently than I do. I have no idea of how much a 1X400 tin would be. May be 10 ounces. Is a dsp the same as an American tsp. I would just love to make this soup and get it right!

    • Hi,

      400g is about 14 ounces (according to google). A dsp is what we use to eat desserts. I would say it is about 1/2 a table spoon. If there is anything else I post that you don’t understand then please let me know as I’m always happy to help. My big confusion is with cup sizes as I never know the measurement of a cup and am too attached to my scales.

Leave a Reply

