Lemon & Poppy Seed Mini Cake Sandwiches

OK, confession time. When I made these cakes I had a vision in my head of how I wanted them to turn out; infact I had been daydreaming about them all day at work. However, sadly they did not turn out how I had imagined. I bake cakes a lot, and I am a massive baking perfectionist. I have a standard routine that I tend to follow but this time I decided to ‘wing it’ when it came to adding the poppy seeds. I have actually never used poppy seeds before so I put in what I thought would be the right amount and mixed them into the cake mixture. To my horror there were so many poppy seeds, that the mixture pretty much turned black! This also meant that my beautiful, tall, fluffy cakes (as I had imagined); were actually pretty flat!

I was so saddened by this that I almost threw them away; however I tasted them, and they were delicious. I owed it to the cakes to save them and so I made them into mini cake sandwiches, and hey presto! They looked ‘kinda’ pretty.

I have make a couple of changes to the recipe (mainly the quantity of the poppy seeds), but however they turn out, I am dam sure they will taste delicious!

Image

This makes 12 cakes

–          4oz stork, plus extra for greasing

–          4oz caster sugar

–          1 tsp vanilla essence

–          2 eggs

–          4oz self-raising flour

–          Juice and rind of 1 lemon

–          ½ oz poppy seeds

–          2oz butter

–          2 oz mascarpone cheese

–          10oz icing sugar

–          Zest of 1 lime

Set the oven to 180’C

Whisk the sugar and stork together until pale and fluffy

Add the vanilla essence, lemon rind and lemon juice and whisk the eggs in 1 at a time.

Fold in the flour, lemon rind and the poppy seeds

Divide the mixture up into lined and well-greased muffin tins 

Bake in the oven for 15 minutes, until you can see the cake has come away from the tin and the top is golden

To make the icing, whisk all the ingredients together until smooth and creamy

Cut the cakes in half and fill the middle with the icing. Using a pallet knife, spread the icing on the top of the cake and decorate with any chosen ingredients.

5 thoughts on “Lemon & Poppy Seed Mini Cake Sandwiches

  1. They look yummy and very cute. Never would have known about the poppy seed disaster if you didn’t mention it.

Leave a Reply

