Pizza Pizza Pizza :-D

Pizza has always been my guilty pleasure, but I have to say when it comes to pizza’s I am a bit of a snob. My Dad always made the best Pizza’s and I would get so excited when he did. No word of a lie, it would take him the whole day to make them and God did we know about it! No one was allowed to set foot in the kitchen while he created his masterpiece and to be honest, no one dared. To say the kitchen looked like a bomb hit it was also an understatement (we were allowed in the kitchen to clean it), but the whole process was worth it as his pizzas were always awesome!

I always thought making your own pizzas would be the massive effort that my Dad portrayed it as, but it is not. Making your own base is a lot quicker and easier than you would think and I make these on a regular basis, and often after work. The result is 1000 times better than you would get from any supermarket or takeaway; so if you are as big a pizza fan as I am then you have to try this!

Image

This makes 2 large pizza’s, plus garlic bread, which is plenty for 4 people.

–          300g strong white bread flour

–          1 ½ tsp easy blend dried yeast

–          ¾ tsp salt

–          3 desert spoons olive oil

–          180ml warm water

Combine the flour, yeast and salt together in a bowl and make a well in the middle

Mix the oil into the warm water and pour into the well in the middle of the bowl

Stir the flour gradually into the well bringing it in a bit at a time from the side of the bowl.

Get the dough out on a floured worktop and kneed for 5-10 mins until smooth and elastic

Grease a clean bowl with olive oil and put the dough into this, covering with an oiled sheet of cling film

Place somewhere warm (I put mine in the airing cupboard) and leave to rise for about an hour.

For the sauce

–          1 x 400g tomatoes

–          1 clove of garlic

–          2 tables spoons tomato puree

–          1 dsp Worcester sauce

–          1dsp sugar

Gently fry the garlic in a little bit of oil until golden

Add all the other ingredients, bring to the boil and then simmer for 10 minutes.

Blend ingredients and season to taste.

(You will probably have a fair bit of this sauce left, which you can use to make a great pasta bake, or spread on toast, topped with cheese and grilled.)

Turn oven to 200’C

When you dough is ready divide it into 2/3 balls and roll out so it is about 1mm thick and line on a try. I like my base crispy so I then put this in the oven for 2 minutes before I add the toppings and this stops the base from going soggy.

Top with your chosen topping (see below for what I made) and torn up mozzarella and bake for 12 minutes

Pizza 1

–          Parma ham

–          Mascarpone cheese

–          Red onion

Pizza 2

–          Chestnut mushrooms

–          Thinly sliced red pepper

–          Olives

–          Red onion

–          Goats cheese

Garlic Bread

–          3 cloves garlic mixed with 50g softened butter

–          Oregano

–          Parmesan cheese

6 thoughts on “Pizza Pizza Pizza :-D

  1. Love the recipe. I will be sure to try it with a few tweaks. I understand how your father could take the entire day. When I’m preparing plain pizza dough, I allow it to rise for eight hours (two hour intervals between beating it down). I normally play it safe with the toppings, but those pictures made my mouth water.

Leave a Reply

