Possibly the Best Homemade Red Thai Curry – You Will Never Buy a Paste Again!

I have never been to Thailand but I absolutely love their food! It’s aromatic, spicy and always tastes so fresh and zingy. I went out and bought quite an exotic Thai cook book from a charity shop, the sort that is so traditionally Thai you have never heard of any of the ingredients that are in it, but I thought I would give it a go. I chose this red Thai curry recipe as it appeared reasonably simple and just had the one item that I needed to get from an oriental supermarket, which was shrimp paste. Now I don’t know if you have come across this before but it is vile! I nearly gagged when I smelt it; it just stank like the bins from outside our local Thai restaurant on a hot day. But this restaurant does do great tasting food, so I gave the shrimp paste a chance, and I have to say it made the dish! I have since made a couple of tweaks to the original and I have to say this is now one of my all-time favourite recipes. I feel a little bit like I am giving away one of my trade secrets here, so I hope you love it as much as I do.

Image

For the paste;

–          ½ red onion – finely chopped

–          1 stalk of lemon grass

–          1-2 red chillis (picked to taste) – finely chopped

–          2 garlic cloves, minced

–          Thumb size piece of ginger, minced

–          1tbsp tomato ketchup

–          ¼ tsp cumin

–          1 tsp coriander

–          3 desert spoons of fish sauce

–          1/3 tsp shrimp paste

–          1tsp soft dark brown sugar

–          1tsp chilli powder

–          1 pinch chilli flakes

–          ½ teaspoon cinnamon

–          Juice of half a lime

Blend all the above ingredients together to make a paste

–          1 onion – sliced

–          1 green pepper – finely sliced

–          1 large sweet potato (I boil mine for 7 mins to soften slightly first)

–          275g of white fish

–          400g tin coconut milk

Fry the onion until soft

Add the green pepper and sweet potato for a few minutes

Add the curry paste and mix into all the veg.

Turn down the temperature of the pan to a medium/low and add the coconut milk.

Give everything a good stir together

Once the coconut milk starts to steam, add the fish.

Cook the fish through for 7-10 minutes and serve with rice or noodles, or even as a soup on its own.

111 thoughts on “Possibly the Best Homemade Red Thai Curry – You Will Never Buy a Paste Again!

  1. Oh this is definitely gonna satisfy my spicy craving… I adore Thai food! 🙂
    Thanks for checking out my recipes! Keep writing!

  2. .Looks awesome! Huge, huge fan of Thai food – 100% gonna give this recipe a go.

    Thanks for liking my post, it’s brand new so not a huge amount to look at but I have a lot of great content on its way 🙂

  3. I WISH my wife was just a little more adventurous food wise. I do want to experiment with some Thai dishes, but she says she can’t get over her coconut aversion……the shrimp paste may cause an issue, too! This sounds really good though. Thanks for sharing your “trade secrets”.

  4. Thanks for liking my. Post. I also love Thai food. It’s the way that every single ingredient can be identified get every taste complements each other . I make Red Thai curry a lot but always use paste. Next time I’m going to try it your way, sounds yummy!

  5. Not tomato ketchup! Ouch, ouch ouch! 🙂 I still need to advance to my own curry paste because so far I had no patience of buying so many ingredients but it looks great! But I will have to skip the ketchup, haha too gross! I am very anti-fructose corn syrup. Would a tomato souce do instead?

  6. Pingback: 5000 Followers and a Massive Thank You | Homemade With Mess

  7. Pingback: Roasted Red Thai Salmon Curry | Homemade With Mess

  8. Pingback: 500 Blog Post Celebration (well, 501 now!) | Homemade With Mess

Leave a Reply

