Is it Possible to Eat too Much Soup?? With this Chunky Bacon Minestrone I think so!

As a child I was a very fussy eater. I hated all vegetables and gagged whenever I was given salad; add to that 7 years of being a vegetarian and I was my parents worst nightmare! Once getting over my obsessive love for animals and returning to the world of meat lovers once again, this soup was one of the only vegetable dishes that I ate. Well I say ate; I always kicked up the teenager standard strop, just for the sake of being difficult and continuing in my adamant belief that eating healthy food was actually bad for me. But trust me, I always went back for seconds, thirds and probably even fourths. This is one of those soups that you will just eat and eat until you pop, and the kids should love it too, I know I did.

Image

This should serve 4 large portions;

– 1 red onion – Chopped

– 1tbsp Olive oil

– 1 large clove garlic – Crushed

– 4 x rashes bacon – Chopped into small pieces

– 1 x large carrot – Cut into small cubes

– 1/2 leek – Cut into small strips

– 1/2 Courgette – Cut into small cubes

– 400g tin chopped tomatoes

– 1 and 3/4 pints vegetable stock

– 2 tbsp Tomato Puree

– 1 tsp marmite

– 50g Spaghetti

– Grated Cheese

Fry the onion in the oil it a large pan (I used a le creuset) for 5 mins

Add all the vegetables and the bacon and fry for another 5 minutes, stirring often so the ingredients does not stick.

Add the chopped tomatoes, stock, puree and tomatoes and bring to the boil. Reduce the heat, cover and leave to simmer for 40 minutes. Taste after this time to check your veg are done as if you have cut quite large pieces it may need a little longer.

Break the spaghetti into small pieces and add to the soup, leave to simmer for 20 mins. You will need to stir this occasionally.

Season and serve topped with grated cheese. Edam is good but it leave you with a very messy chin so is often safer to go for a mature cheddar.

3 thoughts on “Is it Possible to Eat too Much Soup?? With this Chunky Bacon Minestrone I think so!

  1. Pingback: Broccoli and Stilton Soup | Homemade With Mess

Leave a Reply

