Quail Scotch Eggs

I feel like this little number is quite possibly my greatest cooking achievement! I have always yearned for the satisfaction of making a runny and delicious scotch egg, but due to not owning a deep fat fryer and only ever baking scotch eggs I had never accomplished this; that was until now! Using quail eggs was a great excuse to deep fry as it meant that I could fit them in a pan and not use heaps and heaps of oil – it also makes them the perfect addition to a great tapas selection. I now officially want a deep fat fryer; it’s just too bad it won’t fit in my kitchen.

I can’t take all the credit for this awesome dish though, I did steal it from Jamie Oliver’s ‘Great Britain’ book – he is officially god in my eyes! I have now however been truly and utterly inspired to get more creative with my scotching. I can tick off quail egg and salmon but there are so many more exciting varieties out there to discover and I am going to make it my mission to be the one to do it (maybe I will have to make room for that deep fat fryer – I’m sure Sam doesn’t really need his espresso machine!)

valentines 064

Makes 4 eggs – feel free to multiply the quantity to make more

•             2 Cumberland sausages

•             1/3 teaspoon paprika

•             ¼ sprig fresh rosemary – leaves picked and very finely chopped

•             ¼ sprig fresh sage – leaves picked and very finely chopped

•             ¼ whole nutmeg – grated

•             Sea salt

•             Ground pepper

•             1 large handful plain flour

•             1 free-range egg – beaten

•             1 large handful white breadcrumbs

•             4 quail’s eggs

•             Vegetable oil – for deep fat frying

Squeeze the middle out of the sausages and mash with a fork along with the paprika, herbs, nutmeg and a twist of salt and pepper

Set out 3 bowls, one with the flour, one with the egg and the last with the breadcrumbs. You may also then want a clean plate at the end of the line to set the eggs on once they are done

Boil a kettle of water and carefully place the quail’s eggs into a small pan.

Pour the boiling water over the eggs and cook for 2 minutes.

After the 2 minutes is up, place the pan in the sink and run cold water into the pan continuously for 2 minutes.

Gently peel the shells away from the eggs – it may help to have a pot of water next to you do dip the eggs into if you need to clean them of little bits of shell

Divide the sausage meat into 4 and shape into balls.

Flour your hands and one at a time, flatten the sausage balls in your palms and carefully roll the sausage meat around the egg

Roll the egg first in the flour, then the egg and finally the breadcrumbs

Repeat this process with each egg and then cover and chill until needed

Fill a saucepan half full with the oil and heat to about 180’C – if you don’t have a thermometer then drop a pinch of flour until the oil and if it sizzles then it is ready.

Carefully lower the eggs into the pan and cook for 4 minutes.

Once cooked place the eggs onto some kitchen paper to drain and then serve with dollop of English mustard. 

12 thoughts on “Quail Scotch Eggs

  1. They look fantastic! I’m surprised the yolks were still soft after 2 minutes. I love the idea of using quail eggs, but hate hate hate peeling them. I made scotch eggs a couple months ago with regular chicken eggs and love them.

    And yes, you need a deep fryer.

  2. Pingback: Curried Scotch Eggs | Homemade With Mess

Leave a comment