Salmon & Broccoli Tart

I ummed and arrrrd over describing this as a tart, as ultimately, this recipe is a quiche. The only reason I haven’t called it that is because I make quiches quite often and to me they should be full of cream and very naughty. This was however a left over meal, so I used what I had and as I had no cream I used milk instead. I honestly have to say, I could barely tell the difference. The milk made no difference to the taste and my hips were certainly grateful for the reduction in fat. I may have to use this version more often!

Image

Serve 2 as a Main meal or 4 as part of a picknick or snack

For the pastry

–          50g chilled butter cut into cubes

–          95g flour

For the Filling

–          1 large piece of salmon

–          ½ head of broccoli

–          1 large egg

–          153ml milk

–          1 tsp dill

–          Salt & pepper

–          25g cheddar cheese, grated

For the pastry: crumble together the flour and the butter, rubbing with your fingertips until it is all combined. To bring this together add 2 dsp of water to the mix and start to bring together. See how that goes, it may still be too crumbly so add another dsp of cold water. You may need to repeat this if you do not have the right consistency. The pastry is best when it just starts to come together, it’ll just needs a little bit more work with your hands rather than adding more water and making it sticky.

Wrap the pastry in cling film and chill in the fridge for ½ hour. After this time, roll it out to about 2mm thick and line a 6” tart dish. Prick the bottom with little fork mark and put back in the fridge for a good hour.

Preheat the oven to 180’c

Once the pastry has chilled, line the case with some baking paper and fill with baking beans. Cook for 15 minutes and then remove the beans and the paper and cook for a further 7 minutes

To prepare the filling, steam the salmon and the broccoli for 7 minutes.

Flake the salmon into little pieces and chop the broccoli up into mini florets and fill the tart case with these.

In a jug, whisk together the milk, egg, dill and salt and pepper

Pour over the salmon and broccoli and sprinkle the grated cheese over the top.

Bake in the oven for 30 – 35 minutes until golden brown

Leave to stand for 5 minutes before serving with a jacket potato and fresh salad

22 thoughts on “Salmon & Broccoli Tart

    • I smiled at the butter. Repeat several times every morning: natural full cream milk, butter, cream and meat with a liberal amount of fat is GOOD for you! Vegetable oil emulsified with an unholy mix of chemicals – ie, a molecule or two away from plastic, margarine – cannot be good for you!

  1. This looks really good & easy to make! Love the ingredients – there’s nothing I don’t like in it. Will put in my “to make” recipe file. =)

  2. I love the Name of your blog, I totally get it. I also Love this recipe; three of my favorites comined into one: salmon, broccoli and quiche; how can you possibly go wrong. This makes me drool thinking about it. Thanks for stopping by http://www.4dfarmandrabbitry.wordpress.com and giving us a like for our Fricassee recipe. I’m not near the food aficionado that you are but this Yankee transplant to the South has come up with some good recipes over the years, if I do say so myself. Thanks again and God bless.

Leave a comment